Stacks Image 150


A chance to test your knowledge on all aspects of apiculture.

The Modules are written examinations held at a centre in your region with each paper taking 1½hrs. You can take up to 4 modules in each session. There are seven modules to be studied:

  • Module 1 - Honey bee Management
  • Module 2 - Honey bee Products and Forage
  • Module 3 - Honey bee Pests, Diseases and Poisoning
  • Module 5 - Honey bee Biology
  • Module 6 - Honey bee Behaviour
  • Module 7 - Selection & Breeding of Honey bees
  • Module 8 - Honey bee Management, Health and History
    *Module 8 must be the last module to be taken, otherwise they can be tackled in any order.
  • After passing modules 1, 2, 3 and one other from 5, 6 and 7 you are awarded the Intermediate Theory Certificate and after passing all modules you are awarded the Advanced Theory Certificate.

    The entry requirements to sit the modules are the Basic Certificate and at least 2 years beekeeping experience.

    To apply for the assessment, complete the Application Form and send it with the Fee to your Area Examination Secretary or if an individual member, direct to the National Beekeeping Centre at Stoneleigh.

    The Area Exam Secretary will contact you with details of the Examination.

    Past exam papers are now available from the online shop.